

2020/21 International College of Dentists Award Recipients

Award Recipient

Retiring Councillor Akira Senda (Section VII Japan) **Biography**

Dr. Senda was inducted into the ICD in 1997 and has been an International Councilor for 16 years. He held the position of International President during the College's centenary year. The worldwide COVID-19 pandemic caused much uncertainty during Dr. Senda's presidential term. Through his consistent message of "One ICD Team", he was able to keep the College unified, collaborative, and resilient. Alongside the positions of Vice Dean and then Vice President of Aichi Gakuin University, Dr. Senda has shared his knowledge and experience as an elected official for many dental societies in Japan and internationally. In 2001, he was given an honorary degree from the National Medical Science University of Mongolia in recognition of his humanitarian efforts in the country. In 2017, Dr. Senda was recognised with an award from the Japanese Society of Dental Science for contributions to education and research.



Posthumous Bettie McKaig Master (Section I USA) Fellow Awardee Dr. McKaig was the first female International President of the ICD, having served as a Section I USA International Councilor between 2011 and 2016. She was instrumental in leading the College through a strategic visionary process that resulted in new goals, and improved Core Values and mission statement. She was also a driving force in the expansion of Section I's International Student Experience Program and served on many committees, including chairing the Membership Committee, acting as the Goal Champion for the revised Applied Strategic Planning Committee, and serving as a member of the ICD-ADI Task Force (a committee responsible for expanding volunteer presentations and activities). Dr. McKaig also played an active role in state dental associations and



on various American Dental Association Councils. Dr. McKaig passed away in February 2020 and will be greatly missed by her friends and colleagues.

Takashi Miyazaki Master Following his induction into the ICD in 2004, Dr. Miyazaki has contributed to ICD Fellow (Section VII Japan) activities with energy. He was an Executive Director for Section VII Japan for four years before becoming a Director in 2010, a role he held for six years. In Awardee 2016, Dr. Miyazaki was elected as President of Section VII. He has also been president of many academic societies in Japan. Dr. Miyazaki is a leader in practice as well as academia, and his research has contributed to the advancement of dental care worldwide. He has held the position of Dean of Dentistry and University Vice President at Showa University for several years. Internationally, he engaged in Peace Corps volunteer activities and has visited many overseas universities to secure exchange program agreements that would enhance the learning experience for dental students.



Charles Smith (Section I USA) Awardee

Master

Fellow

Dr. Smith was inducted into the ICD in 1997. Starting out as a Vice Regent for Section I USA District 6 in 2010, Dr. Smith became Vice President of Section I in 2015 and then President in 2017. He has been an active member of 16 Section I Committees over the last ten years, including as Chair of the Awards, Governance, and International Collaborative Programs committees. Alongside this, Dr. Smith has lent his leadership and dedication to a wide range of ICD projects, from access to care, ethics, finance, governance, and humanitarianism. His expertise has been recognized by his state government, who appointed him to several legislative subcommittees and advisory boards. Dr. Smith has received numerous accolades for his service from the state of West Virginia, including the 'Distinguished Dentist of the Year Award'.



Master Fellow Awardee	Richard Smith (Section I USA)	Dr. Smith has held many positions within the ICD, including as the current International President, International Treasurer, Finance Committee Chair, Section I Regent and Section I Treasurer. During his long tenure as Treasurer for Section I, Dr. Smith was instrumental in establishing a solid financial position that allows the Section to provide a strong program of services. Undoubtably, he has displayed ICD core values through his local and state dental associations. Acting as Chair to the Texas Dental Association's Smiles Foundation (which has provided over US\$25 million in oral care to underserved communities) and the Texas Mission of Mercy for the last fifteen years displays his passion to serve others. Dr. Smith has also served on a national level in the American Dental Association.	
Posthumous Distinguished Service Awardee	Peter Lazar AM (Section VIII Australasia)	In 2003, Peter was inducted as an Honorary Fellow of Section VIII Australasia, as one of only five people to receive the accolade in the Section's history. Peter's lifelong commitment to oral health in Australia dates from the early 1950's when he became involved with early campaigns for water fluoridation. More recently, as part of the Healthy Gums and Muscles program at the University of Sydney, Peter worked with ICD Fellow John Cooney AM and the dental faculty to undertake pioneering research and educate communities about the relationship between oral health and general health. Peter remained actively involved in promoting oral health and providing advice and assistance on dental research and oral health engagement projects until he sadly passed away in January 2022.	
Presidential Citation Awardee	Elena Kavaliauskis (Section IV South America)	Dr. Kavaliauskis is the current Registrar of ICD in South America and works hard to keep the region united. Previously, Dr. Kavaliauskis was President of the Uruguayan District for two terms, during which time she was President of the 1st International Congress of Section IV South America, held in 2016. She organized monthly conferences in Uruguay during her presidency, not only to cover dental topics, but also of general interest. She was also Treasurer of the Uruguayan District for two terms, showing true commitment and professionalism. In her current role, Dr Kavaliauskis is continuing to drive shared learning by organizing an academic event for Section IV, with the participation of all member countries.	EE